The footpath at Ivanova Korita is located at the foot of Mount Lovcen, about 14 kilometers from Cetinje and 34 kilometers from Kotor.The footpath is interesting even though it is short with a height difference of 120 and length of 350 meters, especially for those who like quieter winter regions which are not as crowded as the main tourist centres. The footpath is marked in a blue colour. A ski lift „dish“ has been installed. The sea which is just as interesting during winter awaits at the foot of its western side while you can at the same time ski on the other side of Lovćen. Accomodational capacity The resort is located 1270 meters above sea level in the middle of the National Park Lovćen. This recreational tourism center functions throughout the whole year and provides services to the youngest members of the population: kindergartens, primary school students, high school students as well as individual guests.The center also organises French and Italian language camps for children, handball and basketball camps as well as computer and physics camps. Ski instructors and animators for children work with the children. Contact: +382 (0)41 233 700, firstname.lastname@example.orgView all ski centers
The place itself keeps remnants of historical buildings from the time of Ivan Crnojević such as cellar of a building destroyed long ago which is associated with the work of the so called Print House of Obod (Obodska štamparija), where the first Cyrillic book “Oktoih prvoglasnik” was printed in 1494. Apart from that, the first pharmacy in Montenegro was opened there as well as the first arms workshop. In the early 20th century the factory “Marica” produced nacre – pearl made of fish scales.In the 19th and the 20th century Rijeka Crnojevića was the biggest Montenegrin port and a leading trade center. A particularly praised product of this area was smoked bleak because of its uniqueness and exquisite taste which was also highly demanded on the Italian market.At the entrance to Rijeka Crnojevića there is a stone bridge called “Danilov most”. It was raised by Prince Danilo in 1853 in memory of his father Stanko Petrović. Next to the bridge on the left he built a one-storey building known as “Mostina“ which is preserved until the present day.The oldest preserved building in Rijeka Crnojevića is the house of St Peter (Sveti Petar).Fabulous visit to this place is complemented by a rich gastronomic offer of authentic fish specialties, thematic walks and kayak rides.
Three great Christian relics have gone a long way to reach the historic town of Cetinje. From Jerusalem via Constantinople they came to the Knights of the Holy Crusades of St. John the Baptist who seized them in one of their battles. First they were kept in Rhodes, and then from the mid 16th century they were kept in Malta. This is why the Knights of the Order of St. John were later called the Order of Malta. During the Napoleonic Wars, general of the Order of Malta gave the relics to the Russian Czar Paul I Romanov in 1799 to take care of them. Relics were kept in the court of the Romanovs in St. Petersburg until the revolution in 1918 when Maria Fedorovna, mother of Emperor Nicholas II, brought them to Copenhagen. At the end of her life, she gave them to the Russian patriarch Antonio Hrapovicky who brought the relics through Berlin to Belgrade. Then, he gave them to King Aleksandar Karađordjević as a sign of gratitude of the Russian people and the Russian church for receiving a large number of refugees from Russia. The relics were kept in the royal palace in Belgrade until 1941 which is when King Peter II together with Patriarch Gavrilo Dožić handed them to the Ostrog monastery to be taken care of. The relics were transferred from Ostrog in 1952 to the State Treasury. Then, the Right Hand of St. John the Baptist and particles of the Holy Cross were handed to the Metropolitan of Montenegro and the Littoral, Daniel Dajković and were transferred to the Cetinje Monastery and icon of the Holy Mother Philermos was transferred to the National Museum in Cetinje in 1978 where it is kept until the present date. These relics are among the most famous Christian relics. They are in golden frames, decorated with diamonds, rubies and sapphires.
The Italian architect Corradini designed this building. The museum is housed in large halls. Decorated with luxuriant ornaments, the elegance and style of façades is repeated in the halls. Several collections of works of art are contained in these halls: -Paintings by Paja Jovanović, Vlaho Bukovac, Djura Jakšić and other great painters from the territory of the former Yugoslavia. -A collection of Montenegrin paintings representing chronologically modern art from Bocarić, Milo Milunović, Petar Lubarda, right up to contemporary painters. -A collection of icons and copies of frescoes. There is a collection that belonged to Milica Sarić-Vukomanović where there are works by Picasso, Chagall and others.
The Monastery of Cetinje was built at the beginning of the 12th century on the foundations of the old palace of the Crnojevic dynasty.In the monastery there are valuable exhibits from the medieval period: Sava Nemanjić’s epitrahil (stole), the crown of Stefan Dečanski, the Balšić dynasty’s church flag and the seal and sceptre that belonged to Ivan Crnojević. There are also collections of valuable icons and medieval manuscripts written on parchment or on paper, as well as many rare books. Among these is the “Oktoih” printed in 1493/94 in the first Cyrillic printing house that belonged to Ivan Crnojević.Two great Christian relics can be found in Cetinje Monastery: the right hand of St. John the Baptist and a part of theHoly Cross of Christ. According to Christian tradition, John the Baptist was a preacher who baptised Christ in the River Jordan, on whose banks he came to preach and prepare people for the Saviour’s coming. On Herod’s orders, he was imprisoned, his head was cut off and his body was buried in Sevastia. The destiny of this Christian relic was marked by historical events. After 9 centuries it was brought to Jerusalem from Antioch, then to Constantinople, Rhodes and to Malta. Knights of the Maltese Order gave it to the Russian Tsar Pavel I together with a part of the Holy Cross of Christ and the icon of Our Lady of Philerme. It was then put in the tsar’s residence in Gatchina and later brought to the church of the Winter Palace in St. Petersburg. According to available sources, after the revolution in 1917, the relics were taken out of Russia. Maria Fyodorovna, mother of the last Russian Emperor Nikolai Romanov, kept the relics until her death. After her death, her daughters gave the relics to Russian Metropolitan Antonije (Hrapovicky). The Metropolitan placed the relics in the Orthodox temple in Berlin and then he moved them to Serbia (Sremski Karlovci) and entrusted King Aleksandar Karadjordjević with the relics. The relics were preserved in the Temple of St. Andrija Prvozvani beside the Bijeli dvor in Dedinje (Belgrade). At the beginning of World War II, King Petar II presented them to the Ostrog Monastery. An archimandrite hid them and the relics remained there until 1952. The state authorities found the relics in 1978 and delivered the hand of St. John the Baptist to Cetinje Monastery, while the icon was entrusted to the Cetinje National Museum.
The most valuable collections in the museum are the collections of guns (mainly trophies), flags, coins, medals, photographs, documents and the palace library. The room called Odžaklija is the place where the tribal heads gathered and where the most important decisions relating to the Montenegrin state were made. The ethnographic collection includes preserved costumes that King Nikola and Queen Milena wore. Also there are room with the carved in wood and beautiful pieces of furniture.
“Biljarda” is a magnificent stone building, established by Petar II Petrovic Njegoš for the purpose of the Senate offices and as Njegoš’s own dwelling. Today it is a museum where the memory of this famous ruler, poet and bishop is preserved. The building is called the “Biljarda” and is named after the billiard table Njegos brought from Italy. Fifty young men carried the billiard table’s parts from Koror up to Cetinje! On the occasion of the centenary of the death of this great poet, after its reconstruction in 1951, the Billiard House had two museums under its roof: - the Njegoš Museum and the Museum of Ethnography.A gallery, with the works of distinguished artists dedicated to Njegos, is also in the house. The things that Njegoš used are preserved here, as well as his manuscripts, books, a rich library, money, guns, etc. The gallery has over several hundred works of art that were, out of great respect, once presented by many artists to this magnificent person and a creator of the unmatched work “The Mountain Wreath”. Along the Billiard House yard, on the southern part of it, there is a pavilion where a large relief map of Montenegro is situated. It is unique in Europe for its size and preciseness. Austrian military experts produced it in 1916-17. For military reasons even the smallest place was marked on it, as well as paths and footpaths of that time.
Throughout the history this region was a confluence of different civilization, which left a strong impact on its rich cultural and historical heritage. On the islands in the Skadar Lake, among birds and water-lilies many monasteries can be found. The oldest monastery- Starčevo, was founded in the XIV century by the humble ascetic, old man Makarije, after whom the island was named Starčeva gorica. On the shores of the lake there are two small towns–old urban settlements, with specific architecture – Virpazar and Rijeka Crnojevića. Both settlements are nowadays famous for its restaurants that offer traditional specialties. Southern hinterland of the lake (Crmnica) is famous for the best vine in Montenegro. Together with the lake carp, this will satisfy even the most demanding lovers of good food and drinks. The lake has numerous extraordinary beaches, particularly those in the village Murići, not less attractive than beaches on the coast...
View from Lovćen from all sides leaves an unrepeatable and unforgettable visual impression. Places that offer such distant and unrepeatable views are numerous: Jezerski vrh, Štirovnik, old road Krstac-Ivanova korita, Austrian strategic roads that lead to the mountain tops, Kotor serpentines – specific projecting and construction phenomenon. Exposed to the steep Lovćen slope and the Bay of Boka Kotortska – serpentines are an unrepeatable experience.Most of the sacral objects and interesting ethnographic material in Lovćen is concentrated in the area of Ivanova korita and village Njeguši, famous for fantastic ham and cheese. Authentic national architecture can be seen in this region: katuns –summer settlements of farmers and old stone houses with roofs made of sawn straw or laminar limestone, village guvna - places where folk meetings were held, were people celebrated and enjoyed themselves. Around ten churches with specific church towers “distaffs» (its form reminds of the distaff) round up Lovćen landscape.Climbing up to the mausoleum of the greatest Montenegrin poet and ruler Petar Petrović Njegoš (1813. -1851), represents a highlight of the visit to the National Park “Lovćen”. Mausoleum can be reached by the 20 kilometer road from Cetinje, followed by additional 461 steps that should be climbed to reach the mausoleum. Mausoleum is the most important work of the great Croatian sculptor Ivan Meštrović. It is said that Meštrović asked for a symbolic fee – Njeguški cheese and ham.The chapel is the most impressive part of Njegoš mausoleum. It is nine meters high with the arch covered in mosaic with 200.000 gold-plated tiles. Sarcophagus reminds of traditional Montenegrin tomb, with the state emblem and a cross carved in stone, as symbols of Njegoš spiritual and secular authorities.
The granary was flooded, the pool became a lake – the largest lake at the Balkan peninsula. The climate also changed, it became milder. All this happened at around six meters above sea level. According to science, Lake Skadar belongs to the rare Mediterranean freshwater swamps. It consists of six entities: Veliko blato, Malo blato, Vučko blato, the flooded course of the river Crnojevića, the bay of Hot and the basin of Gornje blato. There is enough material for all kinds of research at 412 square kilometers and a low water level.From Vranjina to Skadar it is 44 km long, at an average width of 10km, maximum 13km. It is around eight meters deep. Two thirds of the lake belong to Montenegro, one to Albania. The lake gets its water from a few rivers and rivulets, as well as from subterranean creeks. Its affluents are he river Morača (with the wild Mrtvica and peaceful Zeta, and the unique Cijevna), Crnojevića river, Karatuna, Orahovštica, and its effluent river Bojana flows into the Adriatic sea. At some places it is a lot deeper, and there are so called "oka" or "vrulje" (sublacustric springs). These are the proof of an oddity: the lake is a cryptodepression for its larger part. This means that its surface is above sea level and parts of its bottom below sea level. There are around 30 such springs. The temperature in these is nearly the same during the whole year. Bleaks come here in swarms, so that it is easy for the fishermen to catch them. The deepest "oko" is – more than 60 meters.During winter, many birds migrate to Skadar from differents parts of the world – e.g. western Siberia and Africa. Even the very rare Black African Heron feels at home here. The paradise of birds is very colourful: various kinds of duck and geese, cormorants, herons, ibises, eagles, griffons, bustards. Silver seagulls have chosen an island here for nesting rather that at the seaside. The island Omerova gorica is not far, a settlement of grey herons amidst bay trees, the only known colony of herons in bay trees. The lake is not an amusement park, but one of the biggest habitats of birds in Europe. This is a proof of the good condition the ecosystem is in, but also of the long tradition: this part avoided glaciation during the ice age and thus became a refuge for living organisms. The variety of the living space has something for everybody's taste: water, reed, willows, meadows, the Ćemovo field. Naked rocks at the islands. Forests. And diversity again: a hornbeam forest grows in harmony with many other trees – oaks, brachypodium, quercus cerris, alders, sweet chestnut, wild figs, pomegranate...Both the coast and the surface of the lake are covered by a rich vegetation. There are many types of algae (930!) and endemic species which prove the youth of the lake. At the surface there are white and yellow water lilies, "kasaronja" (and edible plant which lives only here and tastes like chestnut). It is a very unusual plant, since it needs rain to bear fruit even though it lives in water. There are all kinds of reed and other plants growing at the bottom but visible at the surface, in harmony with the swimming folks. 48 species of fish have been counted in the lake. Special kinds of carp and bleak live only here and nowhere else in the world. For example, it is attested that the export of bleak to Italy was very strong in the 13th century. And smoked carp is a taste hard to forget, especially in combination with the famous Crmnica wine. There are guests here as well: beside freshwater fish, sometimes there are also saltwater species: eel, and many others.